The History Of The Judiciary System  

In 1789, the Judiciary Act made the eleven states existing at that time into three circuits -- the Southern, the Middle and the Eastern. The three circuits had 13 judicial districts. The trial courts were governed by the Supreme Court. The first 70 years of the federal government saw Congress trying to improve and reorganize the judicial system. It slowly increased the number of circuits.

Finally the year 1866, saw Congress reorganizing the states for the last time into 9 circuits, which remains almost intact even today. The districts were reorganized constantly because whole states and districts were sometimes omitted in the judiciary circuits. It was finally in 1889 that all the states and districts were included in the circuits.

The 1789 Act also stipulated that there should be one Chief Justice with five associate justices for the Supreme Court. 

The Congress and the court justices were the ones responsible for developing the judicial system. For 101 years after 1789, the chief justices would hold court in each of the 13 districts twice a year. 

The first Supreme Court session was held on February 1, 1790. It assembled in New York City. 

In 1929, the Congress divided the eighth circuit, and made a tenth one. 1980 saw the eleventh district being established.

When it comes to the judicial system of each state, it is to the court's discretion to have as many courts as it wants. During the colonial period, the judicial system consisted of magistrates. By 18th century, qualified lawyers began to appear on the scene. After the American Revolution in 1783, the state legislatures governed the courts. It was, however, after the Civil War that people voiced their discontent over the existing judicial system. It was after that the modern judicial system began to emerge slowly.

More Articles :

The History Of The Judiciary System




The-Relevance-Of-Judiciary-In-Political-System      The United States political system is divided into the legislative, the executive and the judiciary. All three branches are responsible for and contribute to the growth and smooth functioning of the system. The powers given to each system are separate and unique. More..




Home  ::Bakruptcy ::Contract Law ::Constitutional Law ::Civil Laws ::Divorce ::Expungement :: Human Rights :: Immigration
:: International Law:: Judiciary System:: Legal Research :: Legislation :: Malpractice::
Traffic Laws :: Personal Injuries :: Taxes :: Contact Us

The History Of The Judiciary System )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.