How Many Changes Or Amendments Are There To The Constitution ?  

The Constitution of the US was officially approved and put into function on September 17, 1787 after it was ratified by the state representatives at the Federal Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As many as 27 changes or amendments to the U.S. Constitution have been made since then.

Out of the 27 amendments made to the constitution till date, the first 10 amendments, proposed by James Madison, constitute the U.S. Bill of Rights. These ten amendments were ratified together and put to function in the year 1791. The other 17 amendments followed subsequently. At present, only 26 amendments out of the 27 are in function. This is because the 21st Amendment had annulled the 18th Amendment. The last amendment was made on May 7, 1992 and was ratified as the Twenty-seventh amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

The formal procedure of getting an amendment proposal approved by the houses has been clearly described in two parts in Article V of the Constitution. According to the article, for an amendment to take effect, it must be first put forth to the states by a vote of 2/3rd majority in the two houses of the Congress and then ratified by 3/4th of the U.S. states. A period of seven years is granted for the ratification of any amendment proposal. If the proposal fails to get approved within this period, it is considered ‘expired’ and is discarded.

Till date, as many as six amendment proposals put forward by the Congress have failed to seek approval by the required number of states. Four of these proposals are still awaiting ratification by state legislature, while the other two have expired. The amendments that were proposed but are still pending in front of state lawmakers include Child Labor Amendment, the Equal Rights Amendment, the Titles of Nobility Amendment, District of Columbia Voting Rights Amendment, and the Corwin Amendment.

More Articles :




How Many Changes Or Amendments Are There To The Constitution

How-Many-Delegates-Signed-The-Constitution      A total of thirty nine delegates from the different states of the US signed the Constitution on September 17, 1787. The Constitution of the US is a comprehensive document that contains a pre-defined set of rules, which ascertains the powers, responsibilities, organization, and functioning of the federal and state governments. It also defines clearly the various civil liberties and the fundamental rights enjoyed by the U.S. citizens. More..




Home  • Bankruptcy Law   • Business Law  • Constitution Law • CopyRight Law   • Criminal LawEmployment Law   • Family Law   • Immigration Law   • Legal Dispute      • Malpractice   • Personal Injury   • Real Estate Law   • Tax Law   • Traffic Law   • Trust Law Legal News

How Many Changes Or Amendments Are There To The Constitution ? )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.