How Many Parts Are In The Circulatory System ?

How Many Parts Are In The Circulatory System ?

There are three main parts in the circulatory system. The first is the heart, the second the blood vessels and lastly, the blood. Sometimes, the lymph and the lymph vessels are also considered a part of the circulatory system.

The heart is a muscular organ which has four hollow chambers to accommodate blood.  The top chambers are the auricles, and the lower chambers are the ventricles. The walls of the ventricles are thick and strong. The heart is likened to a pump. In truth, the heart has two pumps -- the right side and the left side, which is the stronger pump. The pumps contract to pump out blood and relax to take in blood. The stronger left pump gets blood from the lungs, and sends it to all parts of the body. The right pump gets blood from all parts of the body and sends it to the lungs.  

The blood vessels comprises of arteries, arterioles, capillaries, venules and veins.  Arteries function is to carry oxygenated blood from the heart to the rest of the body.  They branch off into arterioles and microscopic capillaries. The capillaries eventually unite to form the smaller venules which in turn become the veins. Veins work by taking deoxygenated blood to the heart.

The blood is made up of blood plasma, red blood cells or the RBCs, white blood cells or the WBCs and the platelets. Plasma is mostly water which contains proteins minerals and other substances. RBCs are the ones that carry oxygen and carbon dioxide. WBCs help the body fight against infections. Platelets are present to aid in the clotting of the blood.

More Articles :

How Many Parts Are In The Circulatory System