What Kind Of Government Does Malaysia Have ?  

Malaysia has a constitutional monarchy form of government. The country's head of state is the King of Malaysia. He is selected from Sultans of 9 States out of the 13 States, the examining four having governors as head and thus do not participant in the selection process.

The Prime Minister is considered to be the head of the Malaysian government. This type of government formation is similar to what is seen in Britain. In practice the executive is more powerful than the legislature.

The King of Malaysia is also the country’s head for Islamic faith. He serves a five year term period. The Prime Minister holds a majority in parliament and he is a member of the lower legislature. The King dissolves the Parliament and does this based on advice from the Prime Minister.

The present prime minister is Najib Tun Razak. The parliament is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Parliament Senators serve for a three year period. The total number of parliament senators is 70, out of which 26 are chosen by State assemblies, while 44 are selected by the King. The State governments are headed by chief ministers, who are selected to their chairs by the State Assemblies.

The legal structure of the Malaysian government is similar British Judicial system. The judicial system is independent of the legislature and the executive. There are separate courts in Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysia Borneo.

In Malaysia, there has been a multi party system right from the time of the first election in 1955. Initially, it was the Alliance Party that ruled, but in subsequent years, it is the Barisan Nasional coalition that has become the ruling party.

More Articles :

What Kind Of Government Does Malaysia Have




Where-Is-Malaysia      Malaysia is located in the Southeast Asian region. The capital city of the place is Kuala Lampur. The seat of the Malaysian government is Putrajaya. The South China Sea separates the country into two sections which are Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo. The island of Borneo consists of two states - Sabah and Sarawak. More..




Home  • Anti-Aging   • Assistive Technology  • Death & Funeral • Insurance   • GrandparentingFashion   • Medicine   • Retirement   • Senior Care  

What Kind Of Government Does Malaysia Have ? )
Copyright © 2012  Rocketswag.com, All Rights Reserved.