Iraq History Timeline  

The historical timeline of Iraq gives an overview of the events that took place in the past and ended up shaping the nation. The brief Iraq history timeline given below will help you understand how different events in history had an impact on the country and the region.

The Iraq history timeline is as follows:

In 3500 BC, Mesopotamia, which is said to be the first civilization of the world, was established. The civilization was established in the south eastern part of Iraq.

In 539 BC, the Persians invade and take over Mesopotamia.

In 332 BC, Alexander the Great invades Mesopotamia and takes over the region from the Persians.

In 126 BC, the Greek empire falls to the Parthians.

In 226 AD, the Sassinid dynasty is established in Iraq.

In 633 AD, the Sassinid dynasty falls as the Arabs take control of the region.

In 750 AD, the Abbasid dynasty takes over Iraq and goes about establishing Baghdad, which becomes the capital of the dynasty.

In 1258, the Arab dynasty falls when the Mongols invade the region and take it over.

In the 1500s, the Ottoman Empire takes over the control of the region from the Mongols.

By 1800s, the British come to Mesopotamia to ensure security of the region and the sea route the Far East and South Asia.

In 1914, the First World War starts, and this sees the British establishing a base in the region.

In 1920, the region's name is changed to Iraq from Mesopotamia.

In 1932, Iraq gains its independence from the British.

In 1937, Saddam Hussein is born.

1939 sees the outbreak of the Second World War, and Iraq joins forces with the Axis powers.

In 1941, the British are instrumental in defeating the Iraqi in the World War.

In 1953, King Faisal the second is coronated as the king of Iraq. However, after a few years, the citizens of Iraq are unhappy with the monarchy.

In 1958, the country witnesses a coup and the king is killed.

In 1979, Saddam Hussein becomes the president of the country.

In 1980, the Iran-Iraq war starts after Iraq invades its neighbor.

In 1990, Kuwait is invaded by Iraq. The first Persian Gulf War begins after the Iraqi government announces that Kuwait has become a part of Iraq. The intense bombing of the country by the combined armies of 39 countries forces Iraq to withdraw from Kuwait and accept ceasefire. Economic sanctions by the UN are levied on Iraq

In 1994, Saddam Hussein ends up becoming the prime minister of the country.

In 1998, Iraq announces that it will no longer allow UN inspectors to check its installations for weapons of mass destruction. As a result, the UK and the US join forces to destroy Iraq's chemical warfare program. Bombing of weapons' facilities begin.

2003 sees Saddam Hussein being given an ultimatum to step down and go into exile or face war. However, Saddam stays put, and ground and air offensive starts. Within days, Iraq army collapses, and Saddam's two sons are killed in the war. A few days later, on December 14, Saddam is found and captured.

In 2004, an interim Iraqi government is formed. Saddam is handed over to the government, who put him on trial for human right abuses.

More Articles :

Iraq History Timeline




Middle East :

List-Of-Towns-In-Iraq      Iraq is formally known as the Republic of Iraq. It is spread across the mountains of Zagros, and bordered by two deserts, namely the Syrian and the Arabian Deserts. The country is surrounded by 6 other countries. These neighboring countries are Jordan, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait. On one side, the country is flanked for around 58 kilometers by the Persian Gulf. More..




Home  • Anti-Aging   • Assistive Technology  • Death & Funeral • Insurance   • GrandparentingFashion   • Medicine   • Retirement   • Senior Care  

Iraq History Timeline )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.